Awards & Recognition

MSA Recognizes T.O.P.S. General
Contractor Award Winners

The Minnesota Subcontractors Association recognized Best Practices in the construction industry at its Annual T.O.P.S. Awards Event on August 25, 2021.  The event was attended by 335 Subcontractors, General Contractors and Construction Professionals. Individuals, companies and construction students were presented with awards and scholarships at the event.  MSA members nominate and vote on large and small General Contractors, Project Managers, Superintendents, and Construction Professionals.  Winners are selected considering best practices using specific criteria including: contract terms and conditions; bidding practices, project safety and security; reasonable schedules, competent project managers, timely payment and others.

2021 Champions Award

Lisa Houts with MSA was presented this award. Through several administrative changes within the MSA, she has been the one constant that has kept us moving in the right direction. Without her passion and commitment to our organization, many of our efforts would never get off the ground. The educational and networking events that the MSA puts on every year are the foundation that the entire organization is built from. These events bind our members together towards common goals and toward a healthier environment for us all to operate our businesses in. Lisa, you have our deepest appreciation for exceptional service.

2020-21 General Contractors of the Year 

Terra Construction took two T.O.P.S. awards: General Contractor of the Year
(under $75M annual sales) and Superior Safety Program of the Year (pictured right).

We had a tie for the Small General Contractor of the Year (under $75M annual sales) and the second award went to D.J. Kranz Company. They also took home Project of the Year (pictured below).

The Large General of the Year (over $75M annual sales) went to Gardner Builders.  
(pictured below).

2020-21 Construction Professionals of the Year Awards

The Project Manager of the Year Award was presented to Abby Fincher with Greiner Construction (picutured right). 
The Superintendent of the Year Award was presented to Corey Heikkila with Terra Construction (pictured below).

The Construction Professional of the Year Award was presented to Heather Mayer with The Bainey Group (pictured left).


2021 MSA Scholarship Recipients

Alexus Jackson - Dunwoody College of Technology (bottom right) 
Hailey Schwieger - MN State University, Mankato (bottom left)
Nicolas Lanham - St. Cloud Technical (top left)
Jesse LaMere, Patrick Kennedy recipient - Dunwoody College of Technology (top right)