2019 T.O.P.S Review

MSA Recognizes Best Practices

Annual T.O.P.S. Awards

The Minnesota Subcontractors Association recognized Best Practices in the construction industry at its Annual T.O.P.S. Award Dinner on January 23, 2018.  The event was attended by 235 Subcontractors, General Contractors and Construction Professionals. Individuals, companies and construction students were presented with awards and scholarships at the event.  MSA members nominate and vote on large and small General Contractors, Project Managers, Superintendents, Construction Professionals and Safety Directors.  Winners are selected considering best practices using specific criteria including: contract terms and conditions; bidding practices, project safety and security; reasonable schedules, competent project managers, timely payment and others.

2019 Champions Award

MSA would not be celebrating over 25 years of growth without the dedication and distinguished service of key individuals.  Eight years ago we decided to recognize those individuals with a special award - our Champions Award. 
Allies involvement with the MSA began over a decade ago by serving on the Government Affairs Committee and attending many educational and networking events as well as volunteering at the TOPS Awards Banquet and the Annual Golf Event. In 2013 Allie was elected to the board of directors, where she continued a very high level of activity on the Government Affairs, Membership, and Scholarship Committees. When the MSA recognized the need to migrate the back-end management of our association membership system, dues billing, and website hosting platform, Allie volunteered countless hours compiling a list of possible vendors, evaluating the options, interviewing those that appeared to be the best fit, and finally presenting her recommendations to the MSA Board of Directors.  Once the decision was made to implement the MemberLeap system, she then assisted heavily in launching the effort to deploy and implement the system.In 2017 she was elected to be the MSA Board Secretary, and is currently serving as the Treasurer of the organization. Congratulations Allie!

2019 General Contractors of the Year 
The Large General Contractor of the Year
(over $75M annual sales) was presented to
RJ Ryan Construction (pictured right)

The Small General Contractor of the Year (under $75M annual sales) was presented to Bauer Design Build. This is the third time Bauer Design has won this award! (pictured left)

2019 Construction Professionals of the Year Awards
The Project Manager of the Year Award was presented to Max Roemhild, MP Johnson (picutured right). 
The Superintendent of the Year Award was presented to Brian Boe, Mortenson Construction (pictured right).

The Construction Professional of the Year Award was presented to Ben Nordquist, Loeffler Construction (pictured left).

The Safety Advocate of the Year Award was presented to Tad Ellinwood, Weitz Company (pictured left).
2019 MSA Scholarship Recipients
Samantha Haak - Dunwoody College
Anthony Rush - Dunwoody College
Tyler Fish - Dunwoody College