2019-2020 Year in Review

The Minnesota Subcontractors Association (MSA) is one of the nation's premier construction  associations. MSA represents subcontractors, suppliers and the professional service providers. Our membership includes companies of every trade, size, and affiliation. MSA strives to promote fairness in the construction industry and brings value to our members through education, networking opportunities, and advocacy at the state capitol. 

We are empowering Minnesota Subcontractors for success and we are A United Voice!

2019-2020 Events 

September: How to Modify Construction Contracts in Rochester  with Happy Hour
October: Construction Industry Forecast: The State of the MN Economy
October: Respiratory Protection Safety Seminar
November: Lean Construction Panel with Happy Hour
November: Demystifying the Experience Modification Rate
December: Safety Director Liability & OSHA
February: Meet the Estimators Event
March: PPE Drive

Happy Hour Meet & Greets

October: Carciofini, Donald R. Frantz Construction & Twin City Tile & Marble with Bauer Design Build
November: Empirehouse, H2I Group & Innovative Building Concepts with McGough
February: Hardscape, McCormick Construction & OlympiaTech with Opus

Remaining Happy Hours canceled due to COVID

Safety Network

MSA’s Safety Network is in its third year. The purpose of the group is to:

1. A network for owners, managers etc. with responsibility for safety
2. Identify best practices - share & learn from what others are doing
3. Address the needs of companies that may not be large enough to have a formal safety program
4. Identify and address member safety related topics to present to our members

MSA Committees

Financial Audit
   Chair: Andy Knutson
   Chair: Jake Bauer
   Chair: Donna Gulden
   Chair: Nick Frattalone
   Chair: Michael Gilbert
   Chair: Tony Trulen
   Chair: Allie Lloyd
T.O.P.S. Awards Gala
   Chair: Allie Lloyd

2019-2020 Board of Directors
President: Michael Gilbert, Empirehouse, Inc.
Vice President: Allie Lloyd, Lloyd's Construction
Treasurer:  Nick Frattalone , Frattalone Companies
Secretary: Paul Kosmides , OlympiaTech Electric
Past-President: Jake Bauer, Carciofini Company
Chapter Attorney: Jason Tarasek, TTLO

Board Members: 
Matt Barron, Hardscape Construction
Angela Ferguson, WTG Terrazzo & Tile
Kristine Hutera, Empirehouse, Inc.
Mark Jaster, Century Construction
Andy Knutson, JAK & Company
Todd Leadens, Ace Electrical Contractors
Bill Roehrick, Kremer-Davis, Inc.
Dave Saffrin, Twin City Garage Door
Tom Schoenecker, MG McGrath

MSA Recognizes Best Practices at Annual T.O.P.S. Awards

MSA recognized Best Practices in the construction industry at its Annual T.O.P.S. Award Dinner on January 21, 2020.  The event was attended by 235 Subcontractors, General Contractors and Construction Professionals. Individuals, companies and construction students were presented with awards and scholarships at the event. 

General Contractor of the Year
(over $75M annual sales), and
Project of the Year presented to McGough
Small General Contractor of the Year 
(under $75M annual sales)                   presented to D.J. Kranz Company

Superior Safety Award presented
to Mortenson

Project Manager of the Year Award presented to John O'Hearn with RJM ConstructionProfessional of the Year Award
presented to Patrick Sims with
Adolfson & Peterson
Superintendent of the Year Award presented to Mark Aho with Greiner Construction


Donna Gulden was presented the Champion’s Award in recognition  of her outstanding achievements on behalf of MSA and the construction industry. As a tenacious subcontractor and past president, she represents MSA in frequent meetings with legislators and general contractors on indemnification, retainage, and other subcontractor issues. Her advocacy has created lasting    improvements to the Minnesota construction industry, and her leadership and passion has enabled MSA to achieve our goal and be the voice of Minnesota's subcontractors. 



Three Scholarships were presented to students pursuing careers in construction. Nathan Elyea-Wheeler with Dunwoody College of Technology. (middle), Andrew Randall with University of Wisconsin - Stout  (2nd from right) and Karli Schmitt with University of MN  (not pictured). The Patrick Kennedy scholarship is given to those that exhibit great initiative and leadership qualities. It was presented to Nathaniel Nelson with Dunwoody College of Technology (2nd from left).   


For a printable version, please CLICK HERE